Joint Safety

Mission Statement

“The Joint Safety Committee promotes excellence in safety and health by developing and implementing programs to meet the unique needs of the Aggregate and Ready Mixed Concrete industries; disseminate information on regulatory compliance and administration of health and safety programs, including training; providing operational input on safety and health issues to MSHA & OSHA as required; communicating and working with other committees in CRMCA & CRMCA, as well as NRMCA, NSSGA and other state association partners.”

Safety Committee Overview

CSSGA works closely with members of the Colorado Ready Mixed Concrete Association (CRMCA) in order to promote excellence in safety compliance.

Safety is an essential and critically important attribute of any mining and/or ready mixed operation.  All of CSSGA’s producer members are focused on worker safety with a safe and well managed plant operation.

This Committee has a strong working relationship with numerous agencies including: MSHA (Mine Safety and Health Administration), OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration), and CDOT (Colorado Department of Transportation).

In 2000 the Committee created the MSHA (Part 46) New Miner Training DVD series. This excellent instructional video is in its fourth edition and it continues to receive national recognition from MSHA and other industry associations. For more information about the New Miner Training and other Training DVDs visit the CSSGA Training Products Store.

Safety Awards

In 2014 Safety Committee Chairs worked with Todd Ohlheiser and Annelise Shepherd on improvements to the Safety Recognition Program. In July 2014 the CRMCA and CSSGA Boards reviewed and approved the changes. Please view the details below for detailed updates to the program.

1. Rodman C. Stewart Memorial Leadership Award:  This award recognizes the outstanding individuals that have made substantial contributions to his or her company’s or to the industry’s efforts toward proactive, safe operating practices. Congratulations to our 2016 award winner, Dana Svendsen, Jackson Kelly PLLC!

2. Safety Innovation Award: This award recognizes the production employee who has made superior and innovative contributions to his or her company regarding safety efforts. Congratulations to Tom Fox, Martin Marietta, for his 2015 win!

3. Annual Team Safety Award: Plants and mining operations are awarded based on consecutive years with no incidents. View the 2016 winners.

Committee Chairs

Co-chair: Britney Guggisberg, Martin Marietta Materials

Co-chair: Joshua Schultz, Law Office of Adele L. Abrams, P.C.