January 21, 2014 Safety Committee

Meeting Overview

  • Vote in Safety Committee Co-Chairs: Through a unanimous vote by the Safety Committee, the 2014 Committee Co-Chairs were voted in to their positions. We welcome our new Co-Chairs: Everist Materials’ Ken Borlie and Martin Marietta Materials’ Britney Guggisberg; we appreciate their participation and forward to working with them through the coming year.
  • New Business: The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association’s Vice President for Safety Services, Joe Casper, gave a presentation titled “Leadership in Worker Safety & Health”. Click Here for a copy of the presentation.
  • Safety Subcommittee Update: The Safety Subcommittee briefly discussed their goals for 2014. The Subcommittee will focus its attention on completing the Concrete Mixer Driver Truck Training. Once completed, they will updated the Operator’s Guide and begin work on the new Annual Refresher Training.
  • Old Business: Truck drivers are now required to carry their medical card on them at all times. Click here for the CDL/DOT form.
  • Round Table Discussion: Best Management Practices were briefly discussed, in particular implementing lockout /tagout policies on site. Click here for an OSHA fact sheet on lockout/tagout practices.
  • Next Meeting Dates & Topics:
    • February 18: Max Haynes, Ergomed
    • March 18: Dana Svedsen, Jackson Kelly
    • April 15: Proposed – OSHA Update

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.