2021 Award Recipients

Photos courtesy of Colorado Public Works Journal.

The Annual Conference provides an opportunity to acknowledge the individuals who excel as industry leaders. Congratulations to all who were recognized at this year’s event! Learn more about the award recipients’ accomplishments.

Colorado Public Works Journal Ad

An independent publication designed to be of service and interest to those providing civil services related to infrastructure construction and maintenance and allied fields, including government officials, heavy/civil contractors, engineers and architects, distributors, dealers and manufacturers of equipment and materials, and professional services providers to government agencies and the construction and development industry. Attendees had an opportunity to win a half page ad in the upcoming magazine!

  • Joe Griego, Pete Lien & Sons

CRMCA Committee of the Year

The Committee of the Year Award aims to recognize the remarkable work by one of CRMCA’s committees.

  • Southern Market Committee: Chairperson – Darrin Borgschatz, Martin Marietta

Legacy Leadership

Recognizing many years on the CSSGA Board of Directors and industry leadership.

  • Mark Johnson and Michael Sheahan

Excellence in Sustainability and Community Engagement

The Excellence in Sustainability & Community Engagement Award recognizes the top individuals who have made an outstanding effort in implementing, researching, and educating themselves on sustainable operating practices as well as community engagement through outreach to various stakeholders.

  • Individual: Chance Allen, Aggregate Industries
  • Individual: Erin Kunkel, Martin Marietta
  • Company: Albert Frei & Sons

Safety Innovation

This award recognizing the outstanding production employee who has made superior innovative contributions to his or her company regarding safety efforts. The goal is to share best field practices throughout the industry.

  • Doug Robison, Martin Marietta
  • Nick Ferguson, Martin Marietta
  • Jamie Garcia, Martin Marietta

Rodman C. Stewart Memorial Leadership Award

Each year the Colorado Ready Mixed Concrete Association and the Colorado Stone, Sand & Gravel Association seek nominations for The Rodman C. Stewart Memorial Safety Leadership Award. This is to recognize the outstanding individual in the ready mixed and aggregates industries that have made superior and substantial contributions to his or her company’s or to the industry’s efforts toward proactive, safe operating practices.

  • Producer: Chris Perez, Martin Marietta
  • Associate: Dan Wheeler, Transpro Burgener Trucking

Mixer Truck Driver of the Year

The Colorado Ready Mixed Concrete Association’s Driver of the Year Award acknowledges the significant contribution of ready mixed concrete truck drivers to the growth and success of individual companies and the ready mixed concrete industry. As a salute to these key members of the concrete production and delivery team, the award recognizes the driver’s career achievement, safety, professionalism, competence, and customer service skills.

  • First Place: Kurt Mizell, Aggregate Industries
  • Finalist: Chris Hill, Martin Marietta – Runner Up
  • Finalist: Ron Sanchez, Action Ready Mix – Runner Up

Jack Starner Memorial Reclamation Award – Enhancements of Reclamation through Community & Stakeholder Engagement

he Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Board is accepting nominations for the Jack Starner Memorial Reclamation Award. The award is sponsored by the Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Board honoring outstanding reclamation of aggregate/construction material operations and furthers the collection and dissemination of information about successful reclamation techniques.

  • Martin Marietta, Parkdale Quarry

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.